History of Nigerian Defence Academy | NDA | How Nigerian Defence Academy was established

Nigerian Defence Academy


Motto: Loyalty and valour

Type: Military academy

Established: 1964

Students ~3,500

Undergraduates Yes

Postgraduates Msc

Doctoral students Ph.D

Location Afaka, Kaduna, Nigeria

Website www.nda.edu.ng

Also Read : Federal Government! FG Accuses El-Zakzaky Of ‘Unruly Behaviour’, Apologises To India

The NDA was established in January 1964 as a reformation of the British run Royal Military Forces Training College (RMFTC), which had been renamed the Nigerian Military Training College (NMTC) on independence. The military institution trains the officer corps of the Nigerian Army, Navy and Air Force. The initial class was only 62 cadets, and trainers were mostly officers in the Indian Army .
The NDA grew to an all Nigerian training staff only in 1978. In 1981 itself began bilateral training of foreign militaries. In 1985 the academy commenced offering undergraduate programmes to Military Officers In Training and now also currently offers post graduate studies both for Msc and Ph.D for both military and civilian students alike. The central mission remains the training of young officer cadets in the 5 year(4years Navy and Air force)

“Regular Combatant Course” in which cadets are groomed in Military, Academic and Character development to instill discipline and leadership skills according to global best practices, culminating in the award of a bachelor’s degree and presidential commissioning into the rank of second lieutenant for Army cadets or equivalent in the Navy and Air Force for respective cadets. Until 2011 this course used to be excessively for males, the first set of female cadets commenced training in September 2011. As of 2018, its total cadet class is around 2000.

  • The current Commandant is Major General Adeniyi Oyebade.

Below is the chronological list of NDA Commandants:

  • Brigadier M.R. Varma 1964–1969 (Indian national and 1st Commandant of the NDA)
  • Major General David Ejoor 1969–1971 (1st Nigerian Commandant)
  • Major General Adeyinka Adebayo 1971
  • Major General E.O. Ekpo March 1971 – February 1975
  • Brigadier Illiya Bisalla February 1975 – August 1975
  • Brigadier Gibson Jalo August 1975 – January 1978
  • Brigadier E.S. Armah January 1978 – July 1978
  • Brigadier Joseph Garba July 1978 – July 1979
  • Brigadier Zamani Lekwot July 1979 – 1982
  • Brigadier Abdullahi Shelleng 1982–
  • Major General Paul Tarfa 1984–1985
  • Major General Peter Adomokai 1986 – 1988
  • Lieutenant General Salihu Ibrahim 1988–1990
  • Lieutenant General Garba Duba 1990–1992
  • Lieutenant General Aliyu Mohammed Gusau 1992–1993
  • Lieutenant General Mohammed Balarabe Haladu 1993 – 1994
  • Air Vice Marshal Al-Amin Daggash 1994 – 1998
  • Major General Bashir Salihi Magashi 1998–1999
  • Major General Okon Edet Okon (2002-2003)
  • Major General Harris Dzarma (2006–2008)
  • Major General Mamuda Yerima (2008–2010)
  • Major General Emeka Onwuamaegbu 2010–2013
  • Major General Muhammad Inuwa Idris December 2013 – August 2015
  • Major General M.T. Ibrahim August 2015– October 2017
  • Major General A. Oyebade October 2017- till date

 Also Read: How to be admitted at the Nigerian Defence Academy | NDA 72rc Registration guide | Nigerian defence academy admission requirements

for your NDA past questions call or WhatsApp 08101348795 

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.